mail icon

To recognise threats early and draw the right conclusions from them, MSS-i relies on many different factors. After all, the more precisely and quickly the Swisscom specialists find out where threats lie, the better they can act and react. For this reason, Swisscom continuously monitors and analyses its own feeds as well as feeds from partner companies. Worldwide.

The components for smart correlation

information flow diagram

Own feeds

Nobody knows the Swisscom network better than Swisscom. Information on the threats that are detected on the Swisscom network are immediately input into the service intelligence.

Partner feeds

As a leading Swiss telecommunications company, Swisscom works closely together with Swiss and international providers – and learns immediately from these partners when a new threat arises somewhere.

Other feeds

Last but not least, Swisscom monitors and uses feeds from manufacturers and feeds from feed portals.

Collective intelligence

Swisscom manages security devices in Switzerland and throughout the world. And, when analysing the logs, learns about concrete incidents around the globe. This ensures a collective intelligence, from which all customers ultimately benefit.

Smart collection

MSS-i processes feeds and logs practically in real time: the logs are compared with the feeds and detect threats in a short time. The service receives the logs raw, meaning exactly as they are delivered by the devices, and then compares them with the feeds in an intelligent manner. This correlation of big data ensures significantly more security than an evaluation using a simple algorithm. If a threat is detected, the system automatically triggers an incident and evaluates the threat.

Correctly assess the risk

Risk = Threat x Vulnerability x Asset Information

A threat multiplied by the vulnerability multiplied by the criticality of the target system results in the risk.

From raw data to meaningful reports

information flow diagram

The correlation engine aggregates, normalises and correlates the events of various security devices for relevant incidents. This eliminates false positives, on the one hand, and also displays the incidents in accordance with business logic (e.g. “supply chain is at risk” instead of “firewall is at risk”).

Interaction between man and machine:

We teach machines to think.

For maximum security, people and machines need to work perfectly together. If something can be clearly qualified, the security engine can solve it without human help. However, for more demanding tasks, there is no schema by which the machine can proceed.

For this reason, an expert is needed who performs a specific analysis and avert the threat. Through this analysis, the machine learns something new and can perform the task independently next time. All Swisscom customers benefit from this increase in intelligence.

mail icon

Um Gefahren frühzeitig zu erkennen und die richtigen Schlüsse daraus zu ziehen, setzt MSS-i auf viele verschiedene Faktoren. Denn je exakter und schneller die Spezialisten von Swisscom erfahren, wo welche Gefahren lauern, desto besser können sie agieren und reagieren. Aus diesem Grund überwacht und analysiert Swisscom laufend eigene Feeds sowie Feeds von Partnerunternehmen. Weltweit.

Die Komponenten für smarte Korrelation

information flow diagram

Eigene Feeds

Niemand kennt das Schweizer Netz besser als Swisscom. Informationen zu den Gefahren, die auf dem Schweizer Netz erkannt werden, fliessen umgehend in die Service-Intelligenz ein.

Partner Feeds

Als führendes Schweizer Telekommunikationsunternehmen arbeitet Swisscom eng mit nationalen und internationalen Providern zusammen – und erfährt von diesen Partnern umgehend, wenn irgendwo irgendeine neue Gefahr auftaucht.

Weitere Feeds

Zu guter Letzt überwacht und verwendet Swisscom die Feeds von Herstellern sowie die Feeds von Feedportalen.

Kollektive Intelligenz

Swisscom managt Security Devices in der Schweiz und auf der ganzen Welt. Und erfährt bei der Analyse der Logs von konkreten Vorfällen rund um den Globus. Das sorgt für eine «kollektive Intelligenz», von der letztlich alle Kunden profitieren.

Smarte Korrelation

MSS-i verarbeitet Feeds und Logs nahezu in Echtzeit: Die Logs werden den Feeds gegenübergestellt und erkennen Gefahren in kurzer Zeit. Der Service übernimmt die Logs roh. Also so, wie sie von den Devices angeliefert werden – und vergleicht sie dann auf intelligente Art und Weise mit den Feeds. Diese Korrelation von «Big Data» sorgt für deutlich mehr Sicherheit als die Auswertung durch einen einfachen Algorhythmus. Ist eine Gefahr erkannt, löst das System automatisch einen «Incident» aus und bewe

Das Risiko richtig einschätzen

Risk = Threat x Vulnerability x Asset Information

Eine Gefahr (Threat) multipliziert mit der Schwachstelle multipliziert mit der Kritikalität des Zielsystems ergibt das Risiko.

Von Rohdaten zu aussagekräftigen Reports

information flow diagram

Die Korrelations-Engine aggregiert, normalisiert und korreliert die Events von verschiedenen Security-Geräten zu entsprechenden Vorfällen («Incidents»). Einerseits werden dadurch Falschmeldungen («False Positives») eliminiert, andererseits werden die Vorfälle «geschäftslogisch» dargestellt (z.B. «Supply Chain wird angegriffen» anstatt «Firewall wird angegriffen»).

Zusammenspiel Mensch und Maschine

Wir bringen den Maschinen das Denken bei.

Für maximale Sicherheit müssen Mensch und Maschine perfekt zusammenarbeiten. Kann etwas eindeutig qualifiziert werden, kann es die «Security Engine» ohne menschliche Hilfe lösen. Bei anspruchsvolleren Aufgaben gibt es jedoch kein Schema, nach dem die Maschine vorgehen kann.

Aus diesem Grund braucht es eine Fachperson, die eine spezifische Analyse macht und die Gefahr abwendet. Durch diese Analyse lernt die Maschine dazu und kann die Aufgabe beim nächsten Mal selber lösen. Von diesem Intelligenzzuwachs profitieren alle Swisscom Kunden.